RTCS

Responsibilities

Return to Common Sense

June 19, 2013

Section: Introduction – Rights and Responsibilities

Citizenship is earned and it comes with civic rights and responsibilities

We, in America, do not have government by the majority. We have government by the majority who participate.” Thomas Jefferson

 

Philosophy (Background, Issues, Objectives):

Rights are entitlements or permissions usually of a legal or moral nature.

·         Rights do not impose an obligation upon others.

Being a USA citizen is a privilege with associated responsibilities:

Naturalized citizenship requirements are fairly simple:

o   Renounce all allegiance and fidelity to any foreign prince, potentate, and state.

Immigrants continue to voluntarily flood into this country (legally and illegally).

 

Principles:

Rights of citizenship are enumerated in the Constitution.

Citizenship includes responsibilities:

Personal responsibilities are the flip side of rights:

 

Recommendations:

Short Term, Require all citizens adopt the American language and culture:

Long Term, Require all citizens fulfill their American responsibilities:

 

References:

“Make English the Official Language!” by Dave Gibson dated April 18, 2005 published by American Daily at http://www.americandaily.com/article/7481 .

We the People… of the United States” in a speech by Mitchell Aye, dated July 6, 2005 published on http://www.oilstick.com/humor/wethepeople.htm .

What about My Rights?” by Jan Larson, dated February 27, 2006, published on American Daily on http://americandaily.com/article/12119 .

Citizenship: The Precious Legacy” by Thomas Lifson, dated March 29, 2006, published on Real Clear Politics on http://www.realclearpolitics.com/printpage/?url=http://www.realclearpolitics.com/articles/2006/03/citizenship_the_precious_legac.html .

A lesson on learning English as America debates new laws” by John Hughes, dated July 5, 2006, published in Christian Science Monitor on http://www.csmonitor.com/2006/0705/p09s02-cojh.htm .

Citizenship Bargain” by George Putnam, dated December 8, 2006, published on News Max at http://www.newsmax.com/archives/articles/2006/12/8/84649.shtml .

The Rise of the ‘Civ-Cons’” by John Fonte, dated January 29, 2007, published on National Review Online at http://article.nationalreview.com/?q=YjU3Nzg0ZDcyMDFhOGVmNzc4MWQxOTVlMDM0YzM2Njg= .

Newt’s Philosophy” by Paul Weyrich, dated January 31, 2007, published on Town Hall at http://www.townhall.com/columnists/PaulWeyrich/2007/01/31/newts_philosophy .

Entitlement is a Disease” by Herman Cain, dated February 6, 2007, published on Town Hall at http://www.townhall.com/columnists/HermanCain/2007/02/06/entitlement_is_a_disease .

Time to Put English First” by Newt Gingrich, dated February 12, 2007, published on Human Events Online at http://www.humanevents.com/article.php?id=19394&keywords=time+to+put+english+first .

Thank You for Not Voting” by Burt Prelutsky, dated November 5, 2007, published by Town Hall at http://www.townhall.com/columnists/BurtPrelutsky/2007/11/05/thank_you_for_not_voting .

7 Responsibilities You Have As an American” by John Hawkins dated June 7, 2011 published by Town Hall at http://townhall.com/columnists/johnhawkins/2011/06/07/7_responsibilities_you_have_as_an_american .

Personal freedom requires personal responsibility by David Coughlin dated January 31, 2012 published by Intellectual Conservative at http://www.intellectualconservative.com/2012/01/31/personal-freedom-requires-personal-responsibility/

Pride and Privilege” by Tom Doenges dated July 15, 2012 published by Canada Free Press at http://www.canadafreepress.com/index.php/article/48076 .

 

RTCS